Reinforced Hull

Added
Feb 9 2017 - 01:44 UTC by TheMagicWombat
Edited Feb 15 2017 - 20:00 UTC by TheMagicWombat
Designer
TheMagicWombat
Rating
Point Value
13
Faction
Unaffiliated
Text
At the beginning of the Command Phase, you may exhaust this card to exchange 1 defense token for a token. During the Status Phase, exchange it for the original token.
Upgrade Type
Defensive Retrofit
Carrack-Class Light Cruiser
Flags
Modification.
One of the upgrades that I created for my Carrack-class Light Cruiser Expansion Pack, based loosely on what Wookiepedia (http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Carrack-class_light_cruiser/Legends) says about this ship.

Comments

Contributor
Feb 15 2017 - 19:59 UTC
Ok.
Feb 15 2017 - 18:05 UTC
Edited Feb 16 2017 - 21:41 UTC
Drop the word "gain" and scramble the order a little... "At the beginning of the Command phase, you may exhaust this card to exchange 1 defense token for a token. During the Status phase, exchange it for the original token."The Scatter token is crazy powerful, so you don't want someone to be able to just swap out all three tokens for Scatters every turn. 1 is plenty, and forces them to make choices about how they organize their defense (use it, save it, even use it while exhausted). Truth be told, since you're confining the use to the Command phase, you could get rid of the exhaust requirement. It ends up being redundant. You won't have the opportunity to use the card again, and your opponent won't (probably) have an opportunity to exhaust the card with one of their cards during the Command phase - though that would be a good card.You could, instead of "During the Command phase..." go with "While defending, ... " and keep the exhaust requirement. That allows an opponent to exhaust your card before you use it (I'm sure there's a card that does that, but can't find it right now) and also allows you to use a card to un-exhaust it with one of your cards ( I know there's one of those), so with that combo, you could use it in 2 attacks.
Contributor
Feb 14 2017 - 22:21 UTC
Ooh yeah, I didn't really think of that.
Feb 14 2017 - 20:17 UTC
Cool idea. Might be too expensive. Compare to Captain Needa who does a similar thing (different token) for 2 points. Also, since the Carrack you designed this for already has 2 of those tokens, you're basically offering to change the one remaining (Point Defense) token for a third Brace. Also, when does this happen? Is it temporary, just for the turn? If so, you should have to exhaust the card. Again, compare to Needa who specifically does this at the "start of the first round".